17 Mar 2012: Have you done your readings?


Week 2 is over. The heady, exciting days of O-Week and Week 1 are now over. Readings, assignments, and quizzes are starting to pour in and you’ve realized that you have no time for the 22 societies you’ve signed up with during O-Week (pssst, do make time for Unimates though).

You feel like screaming, don’t you?

WHY?? I THOUGHT UNI LIFE WAS ALL ABOUT PARTYING AND DRINKING?

 

Actually, I wasn’t screaming about not having a fantastic university life. Rather, I was screaming to the heavens since most of my group members decided to abandon me during last week’s City Tour. For some reason, I have a knack of losing people. During my first City Tour, I managed to lose my entire group. Don’t worry, they somehow managed to make it to the Opera House on their own. And they got there before me.

Anyway, I don’t blame my group members, the City Tour can be a rather tiring walk. Check out the before and after photos:

I think we had a 30% casualty rate. 

You feel like screaming, don’t you?

Ranting aside, I hope you’ve settled down in Sydney, that you’ve finally managed to get that elusive, perfect timetable (no timetable clashes with a 4 days weekend), that your lecturers don’t read off from the Powerpoint slides (and record the lectures), that your tutors are interesting people, and you have managed to make friends with people in your tutorials. 

Doesn’t always happens though.

But don’t despair, you still got Unimates!

Next weekend, we’re going to an Australian Football League (AFL) game. This will be one of the most exciting games of the season as it marks the entry of the new AFL team: the Greater Western Sydney Giants. More details will be out soon in our newsletter at the end of this week. I’ve been to two AFL games and I still don’t really understand the rules. But trust me, the atmosphere will be electrifying and you’ll be cheering along with the rest of the stadiums.

And in Week 4 (29th March, Thursday), we have the massive intersociety cruise party: Masked Murder on the Dancefloor Cruise. This is a joint major event with five other societies and there’ll be lots of partying and drinking. I don’t think I’m going to make it to my Friday tutorial alive. But sometimes, you got to live life on the wild side. So come and grab your tickets, we’ll be at Jane Foss Russell building, outside the Uni Shop and opposite EasyWay. If you want more details, just shoot us an email at usyd.unimates@gmail.com. And check out the awesome poster designed by KSA (Korean Students Association):

So I hope you have a great weekend! I hope to see you at one of our Coffee and Cakes session, and if I don’t, I’ll see you at one of our weekend events. Now, I need to stop procrastinating and get back to my readings. Oh yeah, and check out the new Unimates video!

For Fun, For Friendship, Forever

Zareth Lim

President for (of?) Unimates.

Leave a Reply

  • USU

  • Stalker!

    • 31,392 hits
